Recent

Author Topic: Paddles...Please enlighten me :)  (Read 3319 times)

Offline JeffGoudreau

• Old School
Paddles...Please enlighten me :)
« on: May 30, 2008, 07:00:50 pm »
So I know there are alot of guys out there that have paddled more than I have...Im a rookie kayaker...Fisherman convert...Lately Ive been considering getting myself a decent paddle...When I say this I mean something over 300$ or so...I bought the standard carlisle magics and a couple bending branches for my guests but I use these and feel the bend and sort of desire something a bit better now...Have never used anything expensive and want to hear someone explain the feel they get off theirs...So can someone tell me why a paddle would be worth 300$+?

Offline Don

• Local Pro
Re: Paddles...Please enlighten me :)
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2008, 10:35:16 pm »
Jeff, typically the lighter the paddle the pricier they are.  Most are made of carbon fiber which is more expensive to manufacture than conventional component materials. 

Plus most american retailers know you have all kinds of hard earned canuck bucks to spend Jeff.  Where else would you spend it? IKEA QCI?  :P

Don

Offline JeffGoudreau

• Old School
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2008, 10:40:47 pm »
HAHA!!!!
 ;D

So are these paddles more bendy then the fiberglass ones? Like if Im pealing cause I have to is the pickup gonna be evident?

Offline polepole

• Seasoned Angler
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2008, 12:47:51 pm »
Jeff, I assume your talking about the basic Magic and not the fiberglass one.

IMO, you'll take a big step up going to fiberglass.  If you are noticing the bend not, just try a full fiberglass paddle.  Night and day.  You can get one sub $200.  After that it's just gravy ... a few ounces here and there, and throw in a carbon fiber buzzword to catch the eyes of the gearheads.  Don't get me wrong, if you got the scratch, belly up to the $300 paddles, but you get the biggest bang for your buck by going to fiberglass.

-Allen

Offline Espiga