Recent

Author Topic: my ride rec to fishing mod  (Read 2584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline otownyaker

  • Global Moderator
  • Seasoned Angler
  • *****
  • Posts: 402
  • Karma: 10
  • my arms are tired from catching all the fish
    • Otownyakers outdoor adventures
my ride rec to fishing mod
« on: April 28, 2015, 07:06:53 pm »
Figured I would share my ride.
Cheap but works great!
Imo perfect ride for a newbie or a cheapskate like myself.
Total investment 300
This is my 9.5 ft rec yak





First I added the rod holder just behind the seat on the left side


Next I needed a ff





Cut a piece if 1/8 alum plate screwed the ff to it and 2 holes in the lip of the yak. 2 wing nuts remove the ff for transport.
I ran the wire under the lip and used pclips to hold them in place and our of the way

The wire spits off with the power leads heading behind the seat to my 7ah battery
I used a kids play mat cut it up, epoxyd it together, to stop the battery from moving around. ( I used silicone later to attach it to the far back of the yak I. The middle)



I sent the transducer to the front of the seat





I joined kayak wars this year so I figured that I would need a set of paddle holder's, as the bump board,fish and camera are enough to try and hold on to.
The clips I bought at CT for 3.00





Well that's my handyman cheap as yak.
I was going to upgrade to a proper fishing yak this year but got lazy. And we'll I'm cheap and y spend money I don't have to.







Offline Red Rocket

  • Old School
  • *****
  • Posts: 708
  • Karma: 10
Re: my ride rec to fishing mod
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2015, 09:01:14 pm »
The transducer will not transmit or receive through air so you'll have to find a way to enclose it the front of it. I've done 3 different ff installations using Marine Goop but you have to be careful to eliminate all air bubbles or it won't work properly.
Don

Hobie Outback
Toronto

Offline otownyaker

  • Global Moderator
  • Seasoned Angler
  • *****
  • Posts: 402
  • Karma: 10
  • my arms are tired from catching all the fish
    • Otownyakers outdoor adventures
Re: my ride rec to fishing mod
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2015, 07:10:29 am »
Strange.. I used it like this the last 2 years and never seen to have a problem as long as I kept the dirt out from under it.
Maybe I'll silicone it down. Might work better.

Offline Transplant

  • CKA TEAM
  • Old School
  • *
  • Posts: 901
  • Karma: 14
Re: my ride rec to fishing mod
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2015, 07:17:42 am »
If it's been working it's probably because you got a little water under it.  Put a bit of Petroleum Jelly under your transducer, it'll allow the signal to pass through the kayak but it won't be permanent like goop or silicone. Just a thin layer to cover the surface is all you need. I've been using this for years with no problems until it gets really cold out, then I typically need to reapply as it hardens up.
Truro, Nova Scotia

Ocean Kayak Trident 13
Hobie Outback 'Hank Parker Fishing Edition"

www.nskayakfisher.wordpress.com

Offline EagleEyesFlash

  • Hall of Fame Moderator
  • Old School
  • *
  • Posts: 1883
  • Karma: 20
Re: my ride rec to fishing mod
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2015, 08:33:35 am »
Looks like a river rat yak to me.  :D
Looking forward to seeing your catches.
Snag or Fish? Weed or Fish? Oh,Fish-On !


Offline Mtmouse

  • Seasoned Angler
  • ****
  • Posts: 195
  • Karma: 11
Re: my ride rec to fishing mod
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2015, 06:45:37 pm »
Strange.. I used it like this the last 2 years and never seen to have a problem as long as I kept the dirt out from under it.
Maybe I'll silicone it down. Might work better.

Go to Home Depot and get some Duct Seal.

http://www.homedepot.ca/product/duct-seal-1lb-pugs/963529

Here's how.
http://www.demonick.com/kayak/HMR/Battery.Transducer.Hull/HMR.Transducer.Putty.html





Tags: