Recent

Author Topic: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak  (Read 11858 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline brendanbaseball

  • Greenhorn
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« on: April 24, 2014, 06:03:16 pm »
Hey everyone, I am new to the forum and I am also part of the Greater Saint john Kayak Anglers and I need your help. I just got back from cabelas after the long weekend and finally bought myself a fish finder for my kayak. It's a lowrance elite 4x hdi. My kayak is a OK Trident 13.  I'm not sure how I should mount my transducer. What do all you guys have setup on your yaks. I just want to see what everyone did before I go drilling holes in my boat :P. I would really appreciate any help.
Thanks, Brendan


Offline Kayak Curtis

  • Old School
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
  • Karma: -1
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2014, 06:55:52 pm »
Some goop and a pool noodle for transducer,one hole drilled for wire to monitor, behind base. Not sure if thru hull will effect the DI I've read differing opinions on this, although I believe it still works just fine.
Trident 13 angler
Edmonton area, Alberta

Offline Mtmouse

  • Seasoned Angler
  • ****
  • Posts: 195
  • Karma: 11
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2014, 06:03:43 pm »
I used the Lowrance scupper mount.



Offline BigMac

  • Greenhorn
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2014, 06:47:22 pm »
I was in the same boat (hahaha....get it!!).
I am new to Kayak Angling and my wife bought me a fifth finder.

Try Yak Attack or RAM. They each have transducer mounts.
YAK has a new piece called the CELL BLOCK that holds the battery, transducer mount and fish finder all together.
Waterloo area - NuCanoe geared up for fishing

Offline brendanbaseball

  • Greenhorn
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2014, 08:47:58 am »
Hey BigMac, do you know if you could mount the Ram mount on the very back of the kayak rather than the off the side? I'm worried it could get caught on my line or my paddle if it were off the side.


Offline Kayak Curtis

  • Old School
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
  • Karma: -1
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2014, 08:54:28 am »
Yak attacks cell block is ugly large and an eyesore with poor planning on wire placement.
Less things on the top of yak the better. If you use the place on the yak(sonar shield) thats made for your monitor you don't have to worry about snagging on anything. And your going to have wires in the way unless you thru hull mount or use the scupper mount( which still may lead to wires in your way.
Trident 13 angler
Edmonton area, Alberta

Offline Mtmouse

  • Seasoned Angler
  • ****
  • Posts: 195
  • Karma: 11
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #6 on: April 27, 2014, 09:24:00 am »
I assume your OK Trident should be the same as my OK BGII. This is my setup.




Offline BigMac

  • Greenhorn
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2014, 11:27:47 pm »
Hey Brandonbaseball

RAM mounts can be put anywhere you have a track. I used the YakAttack Geartrack and have them placed in a few areas.

I actually find the cel block quite compact since everything is together. It's really just a battery holder that you can attach RAM mounts to so even using it seperate from the transducer is a benefit for me.  Previous method had me running wires all over. I can see where some people don't want it up on the side but the NuCanoe had lots of tracks etc in the lower areas as well so it can go in front, back, side etc. And with gear tracks I can mount things together or separate. Just need to find what works for you.
Waterloo area - NuCanoe geared up for fishing

Offline brendanbaseball

  • Greenhorn
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2014, 08:20:23 am »
Has anyone tried the shoot thru hull method with downscan imaging? If so how much did it interfere and how much sensitivity did it lose?
 

Offline brendanbaseball

  • Greenhorn
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2014, 08:23:34 am »
Hey, MtMouse

If it is possible could you post a picture of the bottom of your kayak? I'd like to see how much the tranducer sticks out. Does it ever hit rocks or anything?

Offline John Gibson

  • Administrator
  • Old School
  • *****
  • Posts: 2553
  • Karma: 29
  • Team CKA
    • Canadian Kayak Anglers
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2014, 08:54:33 am »
Hey, MtMouse

If it is possible could you post a picture of the bottom of your kayak? I'd like to see how much the tranducer sticks out. Does it ever hit rocks or anything?


Ocean kayak has a Transducer scupper hole that allows the Transducer to sit inside of the Scupper. 


Ocean Kayak Pro-Staff Member
Aquabound Pro-Staff
Scotty Pro-Staff

Kayaks:
Ocean Kayak Trident Ultra 4.3

Follow CKA on Twitter  @CANkayakanglers

Offline Mtmouse

  • Seasoned Angler
  • ****
  • Posts: 195
  • Karma: 11
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2014, 10:48:39 am »
Hey, MtMouse

If it is possible could you post a picture of the bottom of your kayak? I'd like to see how much the tranducer sticks out. Does it ever hit rocks or anything?

I have a dual image fish finder and the transducer is big. I had to modify the scupper mount to tuck the transducer up as much as possible. Although OK makes the scupper hole to mount the transducer, I don't think they designed it around the bigger dual image transducers.

In the picture it looks like the transducer sticks out quite a bit, but it's doesn't protrude much below the line of the bottom. I haven't had any issues yet.




Offline brendanbaseball

  • Greenhorn
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2014, 07:41:14 pm »
So I think I've finally found exactly what im looking for to mount the transducer. Before I buy it does anybody have any thoughts on it? http://www.ms-sportsman.com/details.php?id=296

Offline Kayak Curtis

  • Old School
  • *****
  • Posts: 591
  • Karma: -1
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2014, 07:59:18 pm »
I personally found even the drag created by a suction cup mount transducer a pain and would not mount my transducers anyway other then thru hull, or scupper mounted with minimal protrusion.
Maybe a arm directly off the back wont create any unwanted drag one way or the other.
Trident 13 angler
Edmonton area, Alberta

Offline TheRealCraigAC

  • Ultra Light
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 2
  • BASS BASS BASS
    • Craig Tech Services
Re: Mounting transducer on Ocean Kayak
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2014, 11:42:43 am »
Brendanbaseball, id love to see your setup. Im also in the kayak group and have a trident 13. What did you end up doing? Im looking to buy and mount a fish finder  also - how do you find the seat??

Sent from my SGH-I337M using Tapatalk

If f = the optimal number of rods to own
and x = your current number of rods
then f = x + 1


Tags: