Recent

Author Topic: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please  (Read 1503 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 12footer

  • Seasoned Angler
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
  • Karma: 1
Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« on: February 25, 2009, 07:43:45 pm »
As the title suggests I have just made the plunge and bought a new 2008 tarpon 120.  It is not the angler version so I have to rig this baby up for fishing.  My primary fishing styles will be casting spinners and cranks for pike and bass in quiet bays and jigging walleye in large deep (30ft) river type situations.  I would like to mount a fish finder, rod holder and my magellan explorist gps up front.  Has anyone tried any of the triple mount systems?  It seems like it would be a good idea, especially since I would only have to mount 1 base.  I am also wondering if the base of a triple mount would fit onto to flat mount allowance on the tarpon 120, since I don't have the kayak here I dont know how big the spot is.  Any help would be appreciated.





Offline NSYakfisher

  • Seasoned Angler
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: 0
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2009, 10:11:43 am »
The triple mount sounds like it is exactly what you need... you will also need to install rod holders behind you or use an egg crate with a couple of tubs.  I mount my rods along my deck horizontally but with the tarpon I don't think that is as convient for you.  The mount for the triple mount is the same size as the regular scotty rod holders... they are all interchangable.

Also do a search on the net for Tarpons and you should find plenty of rigged ones and Kayakfishingstuff.com also has a forum where there are plenty of tarpon users.

Cheers
Gary
« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 10:24:33 am by Blackfeather »
Scotia Yakfisher

Offline NSYakfisher

  • Seasoned Angler
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: 0
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2009, 10:22:35 am »
Heres a couple of pics that may help
Scotia Yakfisher

Offline JeffGoudreau

  • Old School
  • *****
  • Posts: 3864
  • Karma: 21
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2009, 05:05:05 pm »
Heres a sweet new set up I have been looking at for the back of my Tarpon...
Looks like a nice little set up...

Offline gl_yak

  • Southern Ontario Trip Planning
  • Seasoned Angler
  • *
  • Posts: 374
  • Karma: 5
  • Daniel
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2009, 06:37:27 pm »
If I ever do it again I will install Scotty      344 Round Flush Mount   behind my seat.



Offline JeffGoudreau

  • Old School
  • *****
  • Posts: 3864
  • Karma: 21
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2009, 06:38:52 pm »
you got a pic of your rig...If i remember correctly it was quite nice?

Offline 12footer

  • Seasoned Angler
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
  • Karma: 1
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2009, 10:57:17 pm »
guys,

I appreciate the thoughful responses.  I noticed my tarpon has rectangular spots for mounting, does anyone know the actual sizes of these spots?  Also, when a depth finder comes with a transom mount transducer are these able to be mounted inside the hull?  Anyone use the cuda 242 or 300 fishfinders??

Thanks alot for your help guys and Gary that link you mentioned was great.  gl_yak, are there any RAM mount suppliers locally? 

Offline JeffGoudreau

  • Old School
  • *****
  • Posts: 3864
  • Karma: 21
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #7 on: February 28, 2009, 11:59:57 pm »
http://kayaksportfishing.com/equipment/submissions/ted/fishfinder/fishfinder.htm
Heres a good one to check out for mounting transducers with thru hull ability...No holes...not much hassle...I use Vaseline and duck tape but it gets messy sometimes when your pulling everything off eachtime you go out...

Cabela's is a great way to get RAM mounts...

Offline gl_yak

  • Southern Ontario Trip Planning
  • Seasoned Angler
  • *
  • Posts: 374
  • Karma: 5
  • Daniel
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2009, 12:43:03 am »
guys,

I appreciate the thoughful responses.  ......  gl_yak, are there any RAM mount suppliers locally? 
Yes, http://www.seaandskimarine.ca/
address:  416 Advance Blv.

I am cheepo :D so I don't use RAM holders, I'm using Scoty holders and hand made stuff.
here is some of my gear set up

crate


front(Cuda 240 and Scoty )


crate with light


flush mount


anchor


battery


for transducer I cut hole in foam, put it on bottom of kayak fill wit silicon and push transducer
in it, work for 3 years now


Lately I upgrade front set up with triple tree

not perfect picture(focus was on fish), but you can get idea
good luck ;)

« Last Edit: March 01, 2009, 12:50:46 am by gl_yak »

Offline JeffGoudreau

  • Old School
  • *****
  • Posts: 3864
  • Karma: 21
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2009, 12:51:26 am »
I like that rides look :)

Offline k4l3

  • Seasoned Angler
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
  • Karma: 3
  • Prowler 13 Angler
Re: Help me set up my 2008 Tarpon 120 please
« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2009, 12:45:46 am »
If I ever do it again I will install Scotty 344 Round Flush Mount behind my seat.

You should use the new Scotty 444 flush mount, no screws needed. just need to cut a 1 1/4" hole with a hold cutter and screw mount together.
https://www.austinkayak.com/products/449/Scotty-Compact-Threaded-Deck-Mount-444.html

I picked up one at a Pickering store for $11.99 and got guys at JB Fishing Depot to order them in should be $12 also...     if you go to JB fishing depot they just getting in Scotty rigging for the season.  I got them to order me Scotty Gimbals to transform flush tube rod holder to mount Scotty extender + rod holders.  They are getting in more triple bar mount, got them in couple weeks ago and already sold out.

Bungee paddle leashes or tie down leashes, try MEC $11.50 each
http://www.mec.ca/Products/product_detail.jsp?FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302701329&PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524442094851

I have a flex cord leash but couple times found my fishing line got wrap in it.

Thesource has RAM DOUBLE SOCKET ARM KIT 6" long mounts for $20, picked up couples for Fishfinder/GPS mount
http://www.thesource.ca/estore/Product.aspx?language=en-CA&catalog=Online&category=RAM&product=1913300

GL rigging new yak
Prowler 13 Angler
Downtown Toronto...


Tags: