Recent

Author Topic: Your input is needed  (Read 892 times)

Offline Big T

• Greenhorn
Your input is needed
« on: May 03, 2011, 03:16:38 pm »
Hey everyone I'm a newbie to yakfishing, I just bought 2 weeks ago a OK Trident 13 in camo...man is it sweet, but my question is what is the best way to protect/secure my yak. I will have to leave it at my trailer since i live in a apartment. I cant put it inside my trailer unfortunately but am wondering if anyone has used a cable lock  or chain like you would use for bikes and run it through the scupper holes then secure it to my trailer. I know if someone wants it bad enough this will only slow them down a bit. Is there a better option??

Offline Dorado

• Ultra Light
Re: Your input is needed
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 04:31:38 pm »
Best security known to man.................

Buy a kayak nobody will want to steal. ;D

Offline Ry18an

• Ultra Light
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2011, 07:27:53 am »
I dont know how high your trailer is but, my father-in-law stores his underneath their trailer secured with a cable lock through the scupper hole.  Keeps it more or less out of sight.
Tarpon 140
Prodigy 12
Grumman 16 square stern

Offline phattrick

• Old School
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2011, 10:18:33 am »
That would be my suggestion. "out of sight, out of mind" Put it under the trailer or build a box to put it in. Anything to keep it out of sight. Most crimes are crimes of opportunity. If you get targeted the kayak is gone no matter what you do. but at least you can cut down on the oportunistic bottom feeders who drive by, see something they like and take it. the harder you make it to take it the better off you'll be.
If you build a box for it, label the box SEPTIC TANK BRUSHES or something like that, no-one will want to open it.
cheers Rick
Going to church doesn't make you a Christian any more than standing in a garage makes you a car.
Calgary Hellberta
Malibu Stealth 12
Malibu Stealth 14

Offline Big T

• Greenhorn