Recent

Author Topic: Waders  (Read 2891 times)

Offline Ry18an

• Ultra Light
Waders
« on: April 07, 2011, 09:27:08 am »
Ive noticed that a lot of guys wear waders in their kayaks, Im completely new to the kayak scene so bear with me if I ask stupid questions. 
I do however, have a number of years canoeing in my background though not much in the last 5 years.  I personally have a couple distinct memories that involve chest waders, both when I was trapping in my late teens. 
The first was my dad threatening to beat me half senseless when he saw me about to get in the canoe whilst wearing waders.  In fact, a few years prior to this, a friend of my uncle drowned on the sauble river wearing hip waders after dumping his canoe, I dont think he had a pfd on though...
The second was dropping into an entrance trench beside a beaver house in late october, my waders were instantly filled with water and I still remember how heavy they were to get out of the water with, they're virtually weightess in the water until the water level in the waders is higher than the lake from you trying to get out.  When I did get out of the lake I had to lay on the ground in such a way that the water could flow back out of them before I could get them off, just like the suction experienced trying to get your foot out of a flooded rubber boot.
So I guess I have a couple questions...
Does a properly worn pfd prevent water from getting in over the top of your waders?
Do the newer neoprene waders fit in such a way(tighter) that flooding isnt as much of an issue?
Has anybody dumped their kayak and had to try to get back in while wearing waders?
I guess a person should just try this out in a controlled environment but Im kinda cheap and dont want to buy waders if I end up not wanting to wear them.
Im not meaning to berate anybody here for what they do or dont do, just looking to get/give some input in light of my own past experiences.

Thanks, Ryan
Tarpon 140
Prodigy 12
Grumman 16 square stern